Todd Gilliland Delivers Father’s Day Gift With Knoxville Victory

Todd Gilliland Delivers Father’s Day Gift With Knoxville Victory
Nascar Camping World Truck Series Driver Todd Gilliland (17) Celebrates After Winning The Clean Harbors 150 Presented By Premier Chevy Dealers Saturday, June 18, 2022 At Knoxville Raceway In Knoxville, Iowa.220618 Nascar Trucks Ia 010 Jpg

Credit: Joseph Cress/Iowa City Press-Citizen/USA TODAY NETWORK

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – By moonlight at the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, Todd Gilliland took control of Saturday night’s Clean Harbors 150 after sunset at Knoxville Raceway.

Gilliland grabbed the lead from John Hunter Nemechek for the last time on lap 140 of 150 and pulled away after a restart on lap 147 to beat Nemechek at the finish line by 0.945 seconds. Gilliland won in his first game of the season and the third time in his career.

On Father’s Day eve, during a week off for his full-time NASCAR Cup Series run with Front Row Motorsports, Gilliland handed the victory to his father and team owner, David Gilliland.

“It will make tomorrow a lot more fun,” said Gilliland, who plans to enjoy brunch and play golf with her father on Sunday. “The Cup Series is tough, just competing every week. I’ve had a million people asking me, ‘Is this really what you want to do on your week off?’

“Absolutely. Nothing beats racing. I tell everyone I’m young and wish I could do this every week of the year. … I love trucks. I’ve raced here forever, it felt like. So being able to go back and get one, it’s so Special.”

By winning the race, Gilliland fulfilled his father’s wish.

“I told him when the race started, all I want for Father’s Day is that trophy,” said David Gilliland. “Let’s take him home on the plane with us.”

Baca Juga :  Tips for a safe and healthy summer camp season

But the race wasn’t decided until the sun also set on Carson Hocevar’s dominant truck.

Still recovering from a fractured right tibia suffered two weeks ago in St. Louis, Hocevar took the lead from pole winner Derek Kraus on the first lap and did not relinquish it until his engine expired after a restart on lap 66.

“I’m exploding,” Hocevar exclaimed over the team radio before stopping his No. 42 Motorsports Niece in Turn 1. “No oil pressure – totally damned. Unbelievable!”

Coincidentally, the No. 41 Chevrolet Niece driven by Tyler Carpenter failed on the exact same lap. Carpenter earned his series debut by winning the Super Late Model division at Gateway Dirt Nationals in St. Louis in December.

Hocevar’s abrupt departure gave Gilliland the lead, who kept him from lap 66 until the conclusion of stage 2 on lap 90.

Brett Moffitt, Grant Enfinger, Kaz Grala and Buddy Kofoid chose not to stop during the second half break and restarted from the top four on lap 92. Moffitt took a comfortable lead but was spotted speeding up before the restart zone.

The penalty for the infraction – a tour of the pit area – put Moffitt 21st in the running order and gave the lead to Enfinger, who held first place for 10 laps before Gilliland regained the point on lap 102.

Baca Juga :  There are 8 risks that are not covered by car insurance, drivers need to know!

Nemechek took the lead on the restart lap and held it until Gilliland regained it 17 circuits later.

Gilliland is the 11th different winner in the 11 dirt track races in NASCAR Truck Series history.

Zane Smith finished third on Saturday, followed by Ty Majeski and Stewart Friesen, who was a contender for victory until a slashed tire on the final lap of Stage 1 left him 22nd in the race order.

Kraus, Matt Crafton, Enfinger, Tyler Ankrum and Ben Rhodes completed the top 10. Nemechek regained the series lead by five points over Rhodes.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race – 2nd Annual Clean Harbors 150
Knoxville Raceway
Knoxville, Iowa
Saturday, June 18, 2022

1. (9) Todd Gilliland(i), Ford, 150.
2. (6) John Hunter Nemechek, Toyota, 150.
3. (15) Zane Smith, Ford, 150.
4. (7) Ty Majeski, Toyota, 150.
5. (4) Stewart Friesen, Toyota, 150.
6. (1) Derek Kraus, Chevrolet, 150.
7. (21) Matt Crafton, Toyota, 150.
8. (11) Grant Enfinger, Chevrolet, 150.
9. (13) Tyler Ankrum, Toyota, 150.
10. (3) Ben Rhodes, Toyota, 150.
11. (5) Buddy Kofoid, Toyota, 150.
12. (20) Christian Eckes, Toyota, 150.
13. (10) Chandler Smith, Toyota, 150.
14. (12) Matt DiBenedetto, Chevrolet, 150.
15. (8) Hailie Deegan, Ford, 150.
16. (22) Colby Howard, Chevrolet, 150.
17. (30) Dylan Westbrook, Chevrolet, 150.
18. (34) Lawless Alan #, Chevrolet, 150.
19. (28) Timmy Hill, Toyota, 150.
20. (27) Chase Purdy, Toyota, 150.
21. (36) Jack Wood #, Chevrolet, 149.
22. (16) Tanner Gray, Ford, 149.
23. (18) Dean Thompson #, Chevrolet, 148.
24. (24) Joey Gas (i), Toyota, 148.
25. (32) Blaine Perkins #, Chevrolet, 148.
26. (17) Kaz Grala, Chevrolet, 148.
27. (31) Brayton Laster, Chevrolet, 147.
28. (25) Kris Wright, Chevrolet, 145.
29. (35) Spencer Boyd, Chevrolet, 142.
30. (33) Devon Rouse, Chevrolet, 140.
31. (29) Thad Moffitt, Chevrolet, 139.
32. (23) Brett Moffitt(i), Chevrolet, Accident, 124.
33. (26) Bryson Mitchell, Toyota, Accelerator, 110.
34. (19) Jessica Friesen, Toyota, Brakes, 76.
35. (2) Carson Hocevar, Chevrolet, Motor, 66.
36. (14) Tyler Carpenter, Chevrolet, Driveshaft, 65.

Baca Juga :  Server SHA Review | HYIP Program Offers ₦500

Race winner’s average speed: 34.061 mph.
Run time: 2 hours, 12 minutes, 7 seconds. Margin of Victory: 0.945 Seconds.
Caution Flags: 9 for 45 turns.
Lead Changes: 6 out of 4 drivers.
Leaders of Volta: D. Kraus 0;C. Hocevar 1-65;T. Gilliland(i) 66-91;G. Enfinger 92-101;T. Gilliland(i) 102-122;J. Nemechek 123-139;T. Gilliland(i) 140-150.
Leaders summary (driver, time leader, lap led): Carson Hocevar 1 time for 65 laps; Todd Gilliland(i) 3 times in 58 laps; John Hunter Nemechek 1 time for 17 laps; Grant Enfinger 1 time for 10 turns.
Stage #1 Top Ten: 42,17,4,19,66,23,18,22,25,38
Stage #2 Top Ten: 17,38,4,22,19,23,02,52,88,16

–By NASCAR NewsWire, Special for Field Level Media

You May Also Like