How to Disable Google’s Autofill Feature on Android

How To Disable Google’s Autofill Feature On Android

Autofill is a useful Google feature for storing login information in an app. Usually when the user fills in the username and password information, this feature will appear and ask whether or not to save the information.

If you save the login information in the AutoFill feature, later when the user wants to log in to the app, it can be filled in automatically without having to type again. So this is the same as storing login information in the browser.

However, some people feel that this is not necessary, especially for someone who wants to protect their privacy and doesn’t want to trust their login information to others, not even Google’s systems.

Disabling Autofill Feature on Android

There’s nothing wrong with disabling the AutoFill feature, as long as that’s what you want. Basically, this feature is designed to help you easier on logging into an app without having to type again, but as some people want to better protect their internet privacy, turning it off is the right thing to do.

Here’s how to disable the autofill feature:

  1. Open Arrangement on mobile.

  2. Scroll down and tap on the menu Privacy.

    Tap On The Privacy Menu

  3. Then tap on the menu Google Autocomplete Service.

    Tap On The Google Autocomplete Service Menu

  4. And after that disable it in options Use autocomplete with Google.

    Disabling Google'S Autocomplete Feature

  5. Okay, now the AutoFill feature has been successfully disabled.

From now on, the dialog box for saving login information for the AutoFill feature will no longer appear. And you’re free to re-enable it via settings if that’s what you want.

Also Read: 3 Best Clipboard Apps for Android

Advantages and Disadvantages of Google’s Autocomplete Features

Information considered confidential, for example the e-mail, passwordday Credit card may be stored encrypted on Google’s systems. The advantage is that there is no need to retype it, as long as the login information is the same as the one already stored.

Also, another advantage is that there are settings to define the addition of double authentication, for example fingerprints. So when you want to use the AutoFill feature, you will need to use your fingerprint to be able to enter your login information.

The only downside is in terms of privacy. Considering that login information is stored in a Google account, every now and then we might think if the account is lost or taken by someone, the login information must also be obtained.

Although Google has a high security system, but for users who prioritize privacy, of course will not trust anyone with confidential informationeven for Google.

Disable or keep this feature enabled depending on your needs. And the system also doesn’t force users to save all login information i.e. there is a dialog first asking to save login information or not.

Hope it helps and good luck

Baca Juga :  Tips for Pumpkin Fruits a lot

You May Also Like