Alberta United Conservative government changes cabinet

Alberta United Conservative Government Changes Cabinet

Alberta Prime Minister Jason Kenney has announced several cabinet changes following resignations linked to the race for his party’s leadership, with Environment Minister Jason Nixon now permanently taking over as finance minister.

Nixon was handling the portfolio alongside his other duties after Travis Toews left the finance job three weeks ago to replace Kenney as leader and prime minister of the United Conservative.

Whitney Issik, the assistant minister for women’s status, takes over from Nixon as minister for the environment and parks.


  • Alberta independence debate reignites as race for UCP leadership heats up
  • How is the race for the leadership of the United Conservative Party shaping up?
  • To be held October 6: Alberta UCP announces rules for contest to replace leader, prime minister

Calgary-South East MLA Matt Jones is the new minister of children’s services and Calgary-Currie member Nicholas Milliken will head infrastructure with current minister of infrastructure, Prasad.
Panda moves to the transport portfolio.

Backbencher Brad Rutherford will now be a cabinet minister without a portfolio and will also handle whip chief duties, while Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk moves into the cabinet as the associate minister for women’s status.

The changes come after Toews and fellow ministers Rebecca Schulz and Rajan Sawhney resigned to run in the leadership race, which will have a new leader chosen on Oct. 6.

Baca Juga :  Aesthetically Hannah Height, Age, Boyfriend, Biography, Wiki, Equity

This report by The Canadian Press was first published on June 21, 2022.

The post Alberta United Conservative Government Shuffles Cabinet appeared first on CityNews Edmonton.

You May Also Like